Woody receives ECHL Outstanding Media Award

Loading Scores...
The ECHL June 3, 2014

The ECHL announced on Tuesday that Doyle Woody of the Anchorage Daily News has been selected as the 2013-14 recipient of the ECHL Outstanding Media Award.

The award is determined in a vote of league media members, media relations directors and broadcasters. Woody, who shared the award in 2007-08 and won again in 2009-10, is the only multiple winner of the award since it began in 2002-03.

“Year after year, Doyle continues to set the bar for coverage of the ECHL,” said ECHL Commissioner Brian McKenna. “He provides Aces’ fans with in-depth coverage, including extensive game stories following home and road games, as well as feature stories on players throughout the season. Additionally, his blog provides another avenue for additional coverage on the Aces, as well as news and notes from across the ECHL.”

“As always, I'm thankful for my amazing wife, Sarah, whose love, support and patience seems infinite, even as I push the boundaries daily,” Woody said. “I'm also lucky my boss, Beth Bragg, an editor sharper than a skate blade, gives me endless freedom. The generosity of the Alaska Aces’ players and staff, in both happy times and hard times, is appreciated, as always. Thanks also to ECHL staff, visiting coaches, players and broadcasters, all of whom are unfailingly helpful.

“Aces’ coach Rob Murray and assistant coach Louis Mass merit a particular stick salute. Those guys endure a lot of dopey, stumbling questions from a writer who doesn't know much about much, but have been beyond cool in furthering my continuing hockey education and haven't cross-checked me – yet.”

Woody moved to Anchorage when he was 11 years old and returned to work for the Anchorage Daily News in 1983 after attending Gonzaga University. He has been the beat writer for the Alaska Aces each of the last eight seasons and has spent over 20 years, including each of the last several seasons, covering the University of Alaska-Anchorage hockey team, led by former ECHL coach Matt Thomas. Woody also writes several blog items each day for the Daily News’ website, www.adn.com.

ECHL Outstanding Media Award Winners

2014 Doyle Woody Anchorage Daily News
2013 Andrew Miller
Post and Courier
2012 Christine Troyke
Gwinnett Daily Post
2011 Pam Shebest Kalamazoo Gazette
2010 Doyle Woody Anchorage Daily News
2009 Mike Griffith Bakersfield Californian
2008 Doyle Woody Anchorage Daily News
  Cleve Dheensaw Victoria Times-Colonist
2007 Scott Linesburgh The Stockton Record
2006 Matt Nevala Anchorage Daily News
2005 Mike Mastovich Johnstown Tribune-Democrat
2004 Len Bardsley The Times of Trenton
2003 Dave Eminian Peoria Journal Star

Related Articles

Reebok [advertisement]

ECHL.com is the official web site of the ECHL. ECHL, the ECHL logo and all word marks and logos associated with the ECHL and ECHL.com are registered with the United States Patent and Trademark Office, and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of ECHL Properties. © 2014 The ECHL. All Rights Reserved.